jump to navigation

Can’t count, won’t count. 5, May 2006

Posted by babychaos in General Wittering, Play.
trackback

Maths… not my strong point…. I always wanted to be an animator but back in the dark ages when I was perusing my further education options you could only do animation at eight art colleges and you needed Maths O’level (what old people like me did aged 15 and 16 instead of GCSEs – school qualifactions are changed every few years or so to ensure no child ends up studying for the same kinds of exam as it’s parents). It was easier for me to get a genuine Moon Rock than Maths O’level so I decided on a new career. That’s how I ended up in marketing. So I have a bit of a thing with numbers which is why I’ve ended up being 25 and 38 twice, while not actually being 37 or 24 at all. Not like time travel, I just thought I was 38 last birthday rather than 37.

So all year I’ve told everyone I’m 38 only to discover a couple of weeks shy of my next birthday that I’m actually 37, I’ve been 37 all year, too and I have therefore completely missed it. I feel a bit cheated, I would have liked to have been 37 but instead I’m going to have to spend two years, bar a month or so, being 38. The same thing happened when I was 24. I completely missed being 24 and had to be 25 for two whole years.

Does this kind of thing happen to anyone else….?

Comments»

1. Susie - 18, May 2006

I’d happily be 25 twice, thrice, infinite. If you keep counting like that, you’ll never have to be 40 🙂

2. babychaos - 18, May 2006

Actually… I’ll probably end up being 40 for about 5 years….

3. lea alissa - 8, September 2006

what happens to me is the opposite. I forget that i’ve had my birthday and still tell the world my previous age..i almost always only realize it a couple of weeks before my next birthday. happened when i was 12, 15 and 21.


Leave a Reply

