jump to navigation

Hello again… 11, November 2007

Posted by babychaos in General Wittering, Grumpy Old Bag, Life and living, writing.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Well, tanned and suitably refreshed – except for one night when I was convinced I was dying (that “pins and needles in your hands and feet” they talk about you getting when you’re pregnant is a lot more than just that… it’s like the last 10 seconds before you pass out with a general anaesthetic, only again, and again, and again, and again…). Anyway… where was I?

Oh yes, Portugal was sunny, warm and satisfyingly full of fresh fish – hours old most of the time – and suitably gloopy eggy puddings. I have been trawling the net for recipes for their egg custard tarts and almond tort both of which are like having angels tiptoeing across your tongue! Mmm…

Came home yesterday and reacquainted myself with my hatred of people who go “ooooh” and “aaaaah” at fireworks like brain-dead sheep. I think the main cause of my ire is that it always seems a bit phoney, like they’re doing it for effect rather than because they want to. Then again, I’m the kind of person who hates it when you’re in the audience at a show, some music comes on and everyone starts to clap along. I feel completely phoney doing that, too.

Maybe I’m just an uptight, undemonstrative, anal retentive stereotype of a Brit. Yeh. That must be it. But then I refer you to this post, here… which, to me, shows exactly why that kind of attitude works!

On the writing front, the Snowflake Method has proved excellent. I’ve only done step 1 and half of step 2 out of 10 (don’t laugh) BUT I have worked out how the first book ends… hoorah!

I’ve also discovered I must have crossed wires with my usual printer but in what appears to be a very good way. I explained I wanted to print up to 4 cards and asked how much it would cost for one so I could work out how much 4 would cost. What they didn’t tell me was that to print 2 only costs £50 more than printing one… so I’ll have to ask them for a quote for all four (wahoo!). It’s Sunday now, so I can’t ring them to check until tomorrow. More on that story… Later.

I should have two in a couple of weeks but if it works out, I’ll have four.

Comments»

1. Kat - 11, November 2007

I tried the Snowflake Method, and even though I really liked it as a concept, I ended up plotting my stories to death. I think it’s because using the method gives the appearance of actual work, which is something I like avoid whenever possible. When I find time to write again, I reckon I’ll do two or three iterations, write the story, then break down the scenes and test them against the method during the first revision.

Not sure if you’ve heard of it before, but it might be worth taking a peek at He Wrote, She Wrote’s Online Writing Workshop. I think it offers some really good insights into the writing process.

Pins and needles? Wait until parts of your body suddenly become numb. I couldn’t lift my left leg during my last few months carrying the twins. Of course, now that it’s all over, I do miss being pregnant. Hearing about other people’s pregnancies is making me want another one (much to the hubby’s horror *lol*).

2. Joe Drinker - 11, November 2007

Oh…a vacation in Portugal – you trying to make us jealous? Sounds relaxing.

Glad you’re home safe.

3. mrsmetaphor - 11, November 2007

Welcome back!

4. Mrs. Nicklebee - 11, November 2007

Welcome back! Glad you had a good time. 🙂

5. chrisfiore5 - 11, November 2007

hmmm… vacation. distant memory now, good memory… but fading.

you don’t like to clap along with music? uptight… perhaps. I don’t know about oohs and aahs… maybe we should clap at fireworks and ooh and aah at music concerts.

welcome home.

peace.

6. Bill Howdle - 12, November 2007

Glad you had a good time and it is nice to have you back. If you find those recipes, could you share them. They sound so good.
I have a lot of that Brit blood in my veins and I am exactly like you with the fireworks and clapping etc.

7. babychaos - 13, November 2007

hello everyone and thanks for the welcome back… normal posts will resume… er… eventually. Never mind, the novel’s going well, I wrote a big old chunk of it, today and it wasn’t even the scene I have, off pat, in my head.

cheers

BC


Leave a Reply

