jump to navigation

We have lift off… 23, November 2007

Posted by babychaos in General Wittering, Life and living, Pregnancy Issues.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I am feeling mightily relieved this morning. I had the nuchal scan last night and it’s a ok, a 650 to one chance of a baby with downs and no congenital defects detected, all limbs and features present and correct, heart beating the way it should and it was moving, fidgeting constantly squirming jumping around… No wonder the overriding vibe I get is that it’s very busy!

Looking back on it, I’ve been a grumpy bugger all week, always a sure sign I’m scared but I hadn’t really registered how nervous I was until I was given that piece of good news… well done, you have a healthy baby. Suddenly this looks as if it really might happen and I, BC, may become a mother.

As an ex career woman, it interests me how easily I’m ok with that. In some ways it’s obvious why, I always wanted kids, when we first married I wanted to give up work and start a family but Mr BC didn’t and my career became a kind of fill in – especially when it got good. I suppose a big factor behind my decision not to mend it when the wheels fell of was the idea that I might change Mr BC’s mind about making spawn.

There was a kind of pastoral side to working which I really enjoyed -in fact the biggest thing I got out of my career was the bits where I interacted with people. Nobody reported to me but towards the end I guess there were people who thought I was quite cool… in a good kind of way and asked my advice about stuff, work from the juniors all sorts of things from the seniors.

One of my friends described my job as “ship’s counsellor” which I definitely was to some people and although one of my occasional nicknames was Deanna Troy I always assumed that was because of my huge bosoms!

So I suppose having a child feels so good because I get to do the nurturing ship’s counsellor thing full time; influence and inform somebody’s decisions about the kind of person they want to be, how they live their life, how they interact with others… Mmm… should be interesting.

In the meantime, I am a happy bunny and very VERY relieved.

Oh yeh and you know the cards..? After the artwork sold so well at the gallery the people at the charity have changed their minds. Bonanza!

Comments»

1. Kat - 23, November 2007

Oh, I’m so happy for you!

2. noble savage - 23, November 2007

Congratulations!

3. Mrs. Nicklebee - 23, November 2007

I’m very relieved with you. Congratulations on a good scan! Did they give you a picture to remind you that this is really happening?

How cool about the charity people. I wonder if someone bought your stuff, showed it to them and they rethought their position?? Did they say?

A great post from BCland!

Hugs,

Mrs. N

4. babychaos - 23, November 2007

Thanks everyone. Mrs N – they did give me a picture which is now in pride of place on the cork board in the kitchen!

As for the charity people… they changed their minds because the gallery one of them works for is the one which accepted the print of the Abominable Snowman picture for its Christmas exhibition. After she saw how well it sold, she changed her mind and once she did, the others agreed with her.

Here’s hoping the plant lady says no and I get to do the other one!

Cheers

BC

5. mystarbucks - 23, November 2007

Thank you so much for the comment on my blog. I am very happy to meet you BC, and even more happy to hear that you are going to be the mother of a very happy, healthy, bouncy baby. When are you due?
What an exciting time. Can’t wait to hear more!

6. babychaos - 23, November 2007

Hello my starbucks. June 1st, and thank you very much! It was a pleasure to meet you too, I will undoubtedly be visiting again!

Cheers

BC

7. Joe Drinker - 24, November 2007

Well BC, it sounds like the past few days have really been good for you. Hopefully this same positive momentum will carry you through the remainder of the holiday season and on through the rest of the pregnancy as well!

Congratulations!

8. Joe Drinker - 24, November 2007

Oops…It looks like my comment disappeared…something on your end or mine?

9. Mrs. Nicklebee - 25, November 2007

Oh, the 1st! That’s a great day. My goddaughters were born that day. My Annual 30th Birthday Celebration is the 2nd. 🙂

10. ali - 26, November 2007

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee…now if you can only zoom through the grumpy days..:)
I’m sure you will be the super cool mom..hello mauve goo..:D and all sorts of other fun(ny) things..:)

I’m so happy your card-journey is moving along so well! Happy christmas ahead!! 🙂

11. Steff - 26, November 2007

Fantastic news :-))) Keep us updated on the progress of the muffin!

12. babychaos - 26, November 2007

Mrs N… funny you should say that, mine’s on 12th.

Ali thanks and I hope so, we’ll have to see how it goes.

Steff will do!

Cheers

BC

13. babychaos - 27, November 2007

Joe, thanks, problem my end… sorted now though!

Cheers

BC


Leave a Reply

