jump to navigation

Recovering thumbs and things… 22, February 2008

Posted by babychaos in Art, General Wittering, Life and living, Light Fluff.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I had some art to do today but was rather worried my sore thumb would preclude me from holding a pencil. In the event, I think we’re ok. Phew, the deadline’s next Wednesday so I really do have to finish off the line drawing, at least, today.

Eventually, yesterday evening, I decided to brave a bath, hand in air, etc… Mr BC was coming home late so I put supper in the oven, ran myself a deep hot bath and sank gratefully into it. One member of the household was not content with this though. About five minutes in the bathroom door was pushed open and Mr Cat arrived.

Mr Cat has a bit of an identity problem ergo that he thinks he’s a dog. He will walk to heel, follow me or Mr BC, depending who he has chosen that day, wherever we go and generally hang out with us. He likes to be patted as well as stroked. He never shuts up and when he wants to play he bounces along beside his chosen target barking. A high-pitched (because whatever he may think he IS a cat) terrier like yip. His best game is chase the red dot played with a laser pointer although anything that gets him attention is just peachy and yes, when we first got him, he would retrieve.

He’s a rescue cat, so we don’t really know how old he is, somewhere between 12 and 14 now and to put it politely, he’s a bit of a spacker. He’s incredibly bossy and has a sense of humour. When we first took him on, he was afraid to let us touch him so he acted the fool, dashing about, behaving like a complete idiot and making us laugh.

Mr Cat knew I was in the bath but he couldn’t see me. This clearly annoyed him and made him feel excluded so he set out to get my attention.

He tried drinking from the shower but as it hadn’t been used the tasty pool of soapy water he likes to lap up, if he’s given the opportunity, was not there. Lots of chirruping and general chat ensued as he wandered round the bath. He dragged the bathmat out into the hall where he disembowelled it energetically. That kept him busy for a minute or two.

I pushed the door closed again. It opened almost immediately and I knew that Mr Cat was back in the building… a face with a paw each side appeared at the end of the bath for a second or two and disappeared. A few seconds later, on the other side of the bath, further up, the face appeared again.

Behind my head was a chair, which I’d put there so my towel and water bottle were at hand. A large crash startled me as Mr Spanner Cat landed in it clumsily. I’m sure some cats are really dainty but ours isn’t, he often gets it wrong and falls off things. He sniffed my bottle of water but it had a lid! Ha! He couldn’t slubber on any of the bits where my mouth goes.

He pulled my towel off the back of the chair and had a good go at killing it. Never mind, it was keeping him quiet, I reasoned so I reclined happily in the water reading my book. There is a brief watery plipping noise. Out of the corner of my eye I realised Mr Cat was leaning, pointy eared, into the bath dabbling one hand into the water.

I have him a look.

He stopped.

I return to my book and the dabbling noise started up again, only this time I felt a furry front leg against my back as he tried to get to the water behind me. Another few minutes of this I reckoned and he would be trying to climb onto my head. With a sigh I got out of the bath, ushered Mr Cat into the hall, shut and locked the door. He sat outside and howled until I emerged.

He is quite mad.

I am now sitting in bed typing up his exploits before I get out and tackle the day. He wants me to go and groom him (I’m only allowed to do this while he eats his breakfast). He’s hungry because he’s not going to eat his breakfast alone if he can successfully nag me into grooming him while he eats so for the moment he’ll wait and nag… and wait… He has just walked across my keyboard for the 5th time.

Here is what he says.
~~~~~~~

It’s probably a swear word.

Here are some photos of Mr Cat in action.

Butter wouldn’t melt…

Butter Wouldn’t Melt

Provide a cat with a number of lovely spots to sit in around the house and garden and you can guarantee he will ignore them all, especially when Mr BC is all nice and warm. Mr BC works from home, often with this kind of assistance.

Back warmer

Mr Cat is a keen gardener.

Mr Cat is a Keen Gardener.

The cork floor tiles make Hannah Barbera style skids and cornering a doddle and although he’s 12 Mr Cat is no more mature than anyone else in the house. He likes to play.

Gumbee cat waiting to pounce

He doesn’t like thunder storms, if we have one, he shows us how to put a very large cat into a very small space… like this.

A very large cat in a very small space.

Comments»

1. Mrs. Nicklebee - 22, February 2008

Great pics, BC! 😀 I’ve never known a cat to use anything for its intended purpose, particularly not stuff you spend money on that was made for cats.

It’s nice to know I don’t have to change my mental picture of Mr. BC yet. Well, not his hair color anyway.

2. Kat - 23, February 2008

I do think that cat has trained you for life with a two-year old. *scary chuckle*

3. babychaos - 23, February 2008

Mrs N, glad you enjoyed the pics and yes, you’re spot on, the slightest suspicion that something is there for their benefit is guaranteed to cause a cat to steer clear!

Kat… My mother also says that cats and two year olds are not so very different!

Cheers

BC

4. Joe Drinker - 23, February 2008

Great photos! I love cats.

5. babychaos - 25, February 2008

Glad you like them. He is very pretty even though he’s a complete spanner!

Cheers

BC

6. Geldoff - 26, February 2008

Hmm … I wonder where my last comment went.

7. babychaos - 27, February 2008

Hmm… I have searched my spam trap but I can’t find it!

Cheers

BC

8. Geldoff - 27, February 2008

Thanks – I realise now that your whole post is gone so I’m left wondering if my anti: virus/spam/netnanny/anythingvaguelyinteresting software has consigned it to the bowels of its own private hell for me. (It’s the recent one where you were having a reeeeal bad day – is it still up and I just can’t see it?)

9. babychaos - 28, February 2008

Ohwah! Curiouser and curiouser, it’s still up or at least it should be…

Three minutes later…

How odd. It has become a private post. I think maybe WordPress does that automatically when I say something it thinks I may regret! Your comment has appeared too – thank you for your extremely stable hugs. I think you might be out of luck getting adopted by Mr BC though… unless you’ve invented something… in which case… just call his work number and if you are like his other clients he will mother you extensively… not that I’m jealous or anything! Mwah ha ha haaaragh!

Cheers

BC


Leave a Reply

