jump to navigation

Still knackered… 24, March 2008

Posted by babychaos in General Wittering, Pregnancy Issues, Small Scale Disasters, whinging.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

But in less pain!  Hoorah!

Yesterday was excruciating.  Today it’s back to manageable levels.  I could still sleep for 1000 years but at least I wouldn’t wake up whimpering like a great jessie every time I turned over!  It’s very rare for it to hurt at night, which is where the physio exercises are kicking in I reckon.

Also, I didn’t have time to do my exercises before church and they do tend to set everything straight to start the day, so to speak.

The friend I met in church yesterday also had SPD and was very sympathetic… but I was horrified to discover she got it after she had given birth.  So it looks like I’ll be enduring at least a year of it by the time I’ve stopped breast feeding and my hormones have returned to normal.

Arse!

Not helped by the fact the baby appears to be lying sideways and leaning heavily on my pelvic bone at the front… which is the bit that’s hurting.

I really should shut up about this!  After all, it’s a totally straightforward pregnancy, nothing dire is wrong, no life threatening conditions diagnosed and Muffin is fine… it just smarts like fuck.   More than a bone graft.  A lot more… and at least with the bone graft I was on pain killers… 14 a day, three different types, to be precise.

Then again, the upside is that at the rate I’m going, I won’t bloody notice when I go into labour and if I do, it’ll hardly hurt more.  I dunno if anyone else has noticed this but I find that once pain passes a certain level you can’t react any more however much worse it gets… it’s like you reach reactional capacity.  You swear, get more tired, a bit more bad tempered maybe but that’s all…

Not looking forward to trying to be cheerful and walk miles round the shops with my in-laws next week though.  It’s definitely softened my stiff upper lip and sapped my jollity stamina.  Oh well.  31 weeks yesterday… only another two and a half/three months to go…

However, an invaluable exercise to aid sleep is to get into a very simple yoga position which, sadly, I can’t remember the name of, just before you go to bed.  This will often spread concentrated pain over a larger area making it much duller and easier to deal with and all importantly, sleep through.  Anyway.  Here’s a description.

1.  Lie on your back with your arms by your sides and your knees bent.

2.  Put your feet close in, with your heels say… about 3 inches from your buttocks.  Don’t flop your knees out sideways, keep them sticking up straight in front of you.  Relax.  If you’re doing it right you’ll find it causes your pelvis to tilt and the spine in the small of your back to straighten.  It’s a nice gentle stretch for your lower vertebrae and sacrum.

3.  Lie like this for a few minutes and take some deep breaths.

I find that if I do that in bed, once I turn back onto my side again, the sharp pains at the front have gone.  Whether this is because it kind of resets everything or because it causes the Muffin to subside backwards a bit, I don’t know.  However since it helps, I don’t really care.

Anyone reading this who decides to a comment to the effect that I shouldn’t be lying on my back after 28 weeks should expect a thoroughly abusive reply.

Comments»

1. mrsmetaphor - 24, March 2008

I say follow your instincts. The 28 weeks rule was made in a somewhat arbitrary way to be honest. The basic truth is that the medical community “thinks” that by lying on the back the uterus MIGHT push down on the vena cava and constrict blood flow but they do not know for sure so they issue a ‘JUST IN CASE’ rule, which is what this is.

You know how to work with your body, babe…keep on keeping on.

2. Mrs. Nicklebee - 24, March 2008

Yep, what Mrs. M said. I’m so glad that you’ve got a safe way to ease your misery.

3. Kat - 25, March 2008

Um, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but labour? Oh, you will feel it! (And I only say this because when I was in labour, I cursed all the women who didn’t warn me it would be that bad.) On the upside, the pelvic pain might disappear quickly once the baby is out. Took me about a week to regain use of my left leg and another couple of months until it felt normal again.

Mothers of twins in breech are sometimes told to lie down with their pelvis tilted up. I guess it’s to try and get the baby to come back up out of the pelvic floor and have some room to move. If they can do it, I reckon you’re pretty safe.

4. writerchick - 25, March 2008

Hey BC,
Poor girl – this has been tough on you. And you’re probably right, after all this, you may not notice you’re in labor until your water breaks. Always look on the bright side of life…
WC

5. babychaos - 25, March 2008

Mrs M, thaks, that’s reassuring, ditto Mrs N, nice to see it endorsed.
Kat, excellent, I may go back to one of the on my back physio exercise then and don’t worry, I’m only kidding myself about the labour, I’m pretty ok with pain though…
WC – Absolutely vis a vis the Bright Side!

Cheers

BC


Leave a Reply

